Nice to meet you, Malaysia! Pulau Langkawi

Standard

After my torrid affair with Thailand ended, I fell into Malaysia’s arms, merely because it was on the way to somewhere else, to be honest. “Un clavo saca a otro clavo” would be the Spanish expression, which basically means that Malaysia was my rebound country. So we’re off to a bad start.

I got there with an ear infection and wounded feet, all scars that Thailand had given me, scars that didn’t bother me while being with my little turquoise jewels in the Andaman sea. That had changed. I couldn’t get in the water, I was on antibiotics and pain killers and had to put year drops every 3 hours. I was cranky and my energy was low. So my perception of Pulau Langkawi was tainted already because of my former Asian lover.
Langkawi is an archipelago of 104 islands in the Andaman Sea, some 30 km off the mainland coast of northwestern Malaysia. It was also my first encounter ever with Muslim religion, which was a bit rough for me and took me some time to get used to since I knew very little about it. The hostel was an open space where people wandered around non-stop, it was hot, the bathroom was icky, mosquitoes where little ponies, eating me up. And food was weird. That was bad. Very bad.

However, Pulau Langkawi is so pretty that eventually none of that matters. We left Pantai Cenang mid-morning and headed towards the 7 pond waterfalls, Telaga Tujuh. After going up what seemed like a million steps we were at the top of the hill, having amazing views of the ocean while resting our feet in refreshingly cold and extremely transparent water. It was heaven. We laid there for a while and headed down to the waterfall itself. It was a great place to just be there and get kissed by the mist of the falling water.

Top pf the waterfall & ocean view

Top pf the waterfall & ocean view

Down the road from the waterfalls and after a 20 minute walk we reached the cable car station. Went all the way up to the gate of the sky bridge, 650 above seal level, WHICH WAS CLOSED! Bummer. Anyway, we got to enjoy beautiful views of Langkawi, not only Pulau Langkawi but the nearby islands. We walked around staring, amused. Then we got back down alone, the whole cable car to ourselves cause a couple refused to ride with us. Yes. They were Muslim. We made the best of it and between Julia’s screams of terror due to the height (finally! Something she’s scared of! Hahaha) we took some crazy pictures.

View from the entrance of the Sky Bridge

View from the entrance of the Sky Bridge

Beautiful overview

Beautiful overview

While coming down, we spotted a little white sand beach sitting on a little bay called Burau Bay. We had to get there! So we headed that way. Turned out the beach was owned by a huge resort. We put our rich girls faces on and just walked in. As soon as we got to the lobby, it started raining, so we just stayed lounging in one of the beach chairs under a couple of palm trees until it stopped. The beach looked amazing but there was a jellyfish warning sign. Boo hoo. Here’s a pic I found online for you to see the beach and the resort. We researched it later and the cheapest room is almost 400 usd. Yeah… bye!!

Berjaya Resort Langkawi

Berjaya Resort Langkawi

Alcohol in Malaysia is expensive! So, good-bye beer! Luckily we found a Falafel and Shawarma food stall run by a lovely Syrian guy so we became regulars there. Julia got her Henna on, I got my hiking shoes on a duty-free shop and then, we were ready to get going. Gotta keep on moving!

I knew Malaysia didn’t stand a chance against Thailand even before getting there. Thailand was my first in SEA, how can you compete with that? However, I will always keep fond memories of my time there and Malaysia had some trick up its sleeve that I was not expecting!

Sunset in Pantai Cenagan

Sunset in Pantai Cenagan

2013-11-17_18-03-03_183

Leave a Reply

